I have just completed my 4th year of teaching and have spent every summer working between 30 and 40 hours/week.  Each year after school gets out I return to Little Beginnings Learning Center/Daycare and design and run the school-age program.  I began working at LBLC when I was in college and it has been a wonderful place to develop my teaching skills.  Last summer, however, I determined was going to be my last year as the school age teacher.  I knew that if I did not make a proactive decision to challenge myself by finding something new I would continue to return again and again.  It was time to move on and so I resigned.
That meant that around Spring time this year I had some work to do in finding a new place for summer employment.  After filling out several applications and making visits to local businesses and organizations I found myself without a single lead for employment.  At one of my small group meetings I asked the 7 ladies I meet with to pray that God would provide a job for me.  As we went into prayer that night a friend named Kelly prayed,
"Lord, help Shannon to find a job if that is what You want her to do this summer..."

My immediate thought was, 'What?  What do you mean?  What else would I do this summer?  What would God want me to do besides work?'  It sounds funny to me but I truly had not even considered that maybe there was another assignment for me.  After all, the bills don't pay themselves!  However, when Kelly prayed these words, the same sort of stirring arose in me that had occured when I had first heard the country 'Russia' spoken from the pulpit.  I began to wonder to myself if I still had Tim's contact information and if this summer might be the right time.

Within the week I found the scrawled information with Tim's name and phone number.  As I dialed the number my heart began thumping.  As the ring tones sounded in my ear my brain was shouting, "What are doing?  What are you going to say?  How are you going to explain who you are and why you are calling?"  Before my thoughts could catch up with my body Tim answered in his cell phone with a rough greeting, "This is Tim..."  I hung up the phone!  Like a school girl calling a boy, I hung up the phone!  Then I laughed out loud at myself and said, "Shannon, are you gonna' do this or are you gonna' do this?"  
Redial.

My words were not eloquent and I fumbled through describing to Tim my purpose for calling.  Nevertheless, he confirmed that the church would be traveling to Russia this Summer and that, once again, I was welcome to apply.  I made plans to attend the Shakopee church on the upcoming Sunday and meet for coffee with Tim afterwards.  "And also," he said, "if you are going to go to Russia I would really like for you to come to our workshop in Nebraska in a few weeks.  See if you can get off work."

Whoa. 
  

      
 



Leave a Reply.

    Shannon Esboldt

    DOB: 08/08/1983
    Hometown: Cottage Grove, MN
    Occupation: 3rd Grade Teacher-
    Royal Oaks Elementary School
    in Woodbury, MN

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All