Wow!  What a week it has been!
It has been a bit of a circus with a three-ring show called Travel Visas, Airline Tickets, and Medical Exams.  Nothing like booking an international flight one week before departure!

As the details of the trip have SLOWLY come together I have often wondered what it is, exactly, that I am doing.  There are so many open-ended factors and questions that I still have about the trip and, under "normal" circumstances, would wonder if I should be committed to an assylum for deciding to go (or if I will need to be committed when I get back :))

But as I sent in my Visa application and received confirmation that my flight ticket had been put on reserve I remained, by and large, confident of my decision to go in the Lord.  Even now I am waiting for the travel agent to arrive at work in 30 minutes so I can purchase my reserved ticket.  It is definitely time to commit!

I sit at this computer screen and close my eyes and pray to the Lord.  I am reminded of points all along the past few months that have lead me to this place.  And I am reminded of my daily prayer:
Abba, this is YOUR trip.  I am committing all my plans to you and acknowledging you in all my ways so that you will make my path straight and guide the steps of my feet.

Looking for one last confirmation from God I have read in scripture:

DO NOT CALL CONSPIRACY ALL THAT THIS PEOPLE CALLS CONSPIRACY, AND DO NOT FEAR WHAT THEY FEAR, NOR BE IN DREAD. 
BUT THE LORD OF HOSTS, HIM YOU SHALL HONOR AS HOLY.  LET HIM BE YOUR FEAR AND LET HIM BE YOUR DREAD.  (Isaiah 8:12-13)

Though I know the context of the passage in Isaiah, that God was instructing Isaiah not to follow the ways of the people of Israel and Judah, I can't help but smile and see God's answer to my prayer for confirmation.  Russia is known for it's 'romance with conspiracy', being a culture that more readily accepts conspiracy theories as an explanation for world and national events.  

I am beginning to anticipate the difficutly it will be to serve Jesus in a country with such a dark history-one from which it is not healed.  I grow more desperate for the prayers of those here in the US who have the freedom to practice their faith, not being bound by regulations of government nor oppression of spirit.

Pray for my peace and confidence, that I will be able to do all things through Christ who gives me strength.  Pray for my faith and my knowlege of the Lord-

I am committed!        




Leave a Reply.

    Shannon Esboldt

    DOB: 08/08/1983
    Hometown: Cottage Grove, MN
    Occupation: 3rd Grade Teacher-
    Royal Oaks Elementary School
    in Woodbury, MN

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All